Scenes from Helsinki

Helsinki
If you follow me on Instagram, then you probably know I was in Finland for what I call a “Finnstralian” (Finnish & Australian) wedding this past weekend. In addition to not knowing a single soul at the wedding besides the bride and groom, this was also the first-ever vacation I was taking by myself. Luckily, the bride e-introduced me to a friend who generously took me under her wing and invited me to hang out with her group of longtime friends from Oxford Business School. Not only were they so nice, but they were all incredibly smart (umm – Oxford Business School!!), successful and gorgeous – talk about the trifecta. Combine that with being surrounded by tall, lithe, blonde Finnish girls – and let’s just say I felt like an Oompa Loompa most of the time.

Here are some photos from Helsinki. I honestly didn’t get to see much as once I got into town, I met up with the Oxford group and partied till 1:30am, and then took a train the next day to Turku where the wedding was taking place.

Below are pictures of the centrally-located Esplanade Park. There’s a great café/bar in the park called Teatteri where you can have drinks and some bites on the terrace.
Helsinki
IMG_2737
After a night of clubbing, I headed to Market Square, which you can see in the photos below. Located by the harbor, you can sign up for sightseeing boat rides here, as well as buy souvenirs, flowers, food and drinks. Beware of the seagulls here! They are pretty aggressive about trying to snatch your food – especially since many people seem to buy fried fish platters for lunch here.
Helsinki
Helsinki
Helsinki
After a hurried walk around Market Square, I quickly devoured a Finnish pastry with raspberry jam for breakfast, as I was off to Turku for the wedding!
Finnish Breakfast

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Scenes from Helsinki

  1. Ajay Kaul says:

    nice pics! Thx for sharing!

  2. […] Helsinki, I took a two-hour train ride (approx. 30 euros) to Turku for the wedding. I ended up having a bit […]

  3. […] our most recent trips to Rome and Finland, I opted to take WeCab versus a regular G7 taxi. My experience was, for the most part, very […]

Leave a Reply

