Much-Needed Vitamin D

Uvedose
If you think I’m exaggerating about the grey clouds that seem to remain permanently in Paris, then why do doctors prescribe Vitamin D ampoules known as “Uvedose” to patients? Oui, they actually do this. Due to the lack of sun in Paris during the winter (and apparently this spring), every three months I’m supposed to take a little ampoule of Vitamin D, pictured above. After yesterday’s heavy rain and unusual thunder, I was hoping the grey and rain was finally out of Paris’s system. As Tyler and I took cover under a tree yesterday evening from a sudden downpour, I thought, “Fine! Let it rain as much as it wants to today…as long as the sun starts making an appearance tomorrow.” Mais non! There’s not a streak of blue in the sky today – thus, it was time for un peu d’Uvedose for me.

Luckily, it looks like tomorrow will be the beginning of a whole week (if not two!) of sunshine. One can hope. Otherwise, I may need to take these ampoules once a month instead of every three. Despite all this and what may seem like my whining, I’d rather be living in an overcast Paris than any other city in the world.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

