Animals in the Dordogne Region

“Ahh, madam! You are more interested in fauna than flora,” said our guide Yata during our Sri Lankan vacation last year. Yes, yes, I am. Wherever there are animals, I naturally gravitate towards them. Buying crackers so I can feed stray dogs in Sri Lanka, who then followed us all the way up to Adam’s Peak during a monsoon? Check. Inching slowly towards bulls blocking a dirt road in Corsica? Check. Riding elephants in Zambia, camels in Dubai, and horses in Vieques? Check, check, check.

Thus, here are a couple photos of the animals we encountered while in the Dordogne region earlier this month. They’re not quite as exotic as the ones mentioned above, but seeing (almost) any four-legged creature always puts a smile on my face. I was particularly excited about the donkeys that were at a pop-up farm in Sarlat-la-Canéda. On my list of “must dos” before I die has been to ride a donkey in Greece – yes, kind of like in Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants 2. And yes, I am a weirdo.
Animals in Sarlat
And some sheep we saw munching away.
Sheep Sheep

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

