Eating at… Andrew Edmunds

Andrew Edmunds
Andrew Edmunds is allegedly London’s most romantic date spot… and I can see why.

Thanks to a Brit friend’s recommendation, I made a last-minute reservation this past Monday and was lucky enough to secure a window-side booth that evening. I was a bit hesitant to go at first since it was in the Covent Garden area and I had already dined there the night before, but I’m so glad I did. The food was amazing and the best meal I had in London while I was there for four nights. To start, I had a wild garlic and potato soup that was brimming with in-season garlic leaves. One of the most delicious soups I’ve had. As the main, I had lentils and aubergines with a smatter of goat’s cheese curd on top. Divine, filling and vegetarian – how can you can top that?!

Whenever I eat at a restaurant with Rio, I can’t help asking him how he’d rate a dish between 1 to 10. He generally gives things a 6 and if it’s really good, a 7. Well, to give you any indication of how good the food was an Andrew Edmunds – he gave his starter of bacon-topped scallops a 7 to 8 and his main of tuna steak and egg spaghetti puttanesca an 8. An 8! Rio never gives anything an 8.

We ended the meal with a hot brownie slice and vanilla ice cream. The vanilla ice cream at Amorino by our apartment is probably better, but this was still a perfectly good dessert and a nice sweet ending to a romantic night out in London.

As for the service, I was a little weary since when I called to make the reservation, the lady who answered the phone seemed very no muss, no fuss. Well, she’s like that in person too, but definitely opened up later in the evening. While we chatted with our adorable, friendly waitress about London neighborhoods, she even stopped by our table to offer her insight.

Andrew EdmundsAnd the atmosphere! Two large chalkboards displaying the wines and specials of the evening hang on the walls of this traditional, yet unstuffy restaurant, while candles in wine bottles flicker along the windows and little pots of wild flowers sit atop the tables. With only about seven wooden tables on each of the two floors of the restaurant and a narrow bar in back, it’s a small dimly-lit restaurant where you’re sitting practically elbow to elbow with fellow diners… unless you’re lucky enough to score a window booth like we did.
We ended up being the last diners to leave and truly had the most wonderful meal there. It really is the perfect date spot and I hope to be a regular if I end up moving to London!

Andrew Edmunds
46 Lexington Street
London W1F 0LW
Tél: +44 (0)20 7437 5708
Open every day (it’s not Paris, after all!)

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

