Expat Life: C’est Toujours Au Revoir

Au Revoir, Mes Amis
Today, a friend left Paris to return to New York. After a mere year in Paris, I’ve had to say goodbye to a number of fellow expats. Off they went to Milan, San Francisco, Johannesburg, DC, Buenos Aires, London, and NYC.

Friends here warned me that this was a never-ending cycle of expat life, but I’m starting to feel it even more recently. Perhaps it’s because I’ve (almost) come to terms with the fact that our little family will probably not be able to stay in Paris forever either and in fact, have to leave a little earlier than expected to move to London. Oui, c’est vrai et je suis pas contente. Pas du tout.

Ever the optimist, I’m still hoping that we’ll still somehow get to live our expat days (and the rest of our lives) in my favorite city in the world, but… if not, that just means I’m going to have to 1) appreciate Paris even more than I already do and 2) convince Rio that we should buy a pied-à-terre here. A girl can dream!

Tagged , ,

4 thoughts on “Expat Life: C’est Toujours Au Revoir

  1. Time to meet some Parisians. They move a lot, but usually just from one apartment to another in Paris—not away. 😉

  2. I’m still in Paris. Just returned from a little getaway in London actually. I’d love to meet up with you – maybe for drinks or coffee next week? Let me know when’s good for you. You can hit me up at apresnewyork@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

