Apéros with One of My First French Friends

When I first moved here, I literally only knew one person – my French friend Madeleine. I was desperate to meet people and began setting up “blind friend dates” to meet friends of friends people had so graciously e-introduced me to. Before those were set up though, I happened to befriend an 80+ year old French lady named Françoise while we were both walking our dogs in Parc Monceau. She had me over her apartment and to give you some perspective of how cool she is despite her age, before I came over she asked me if I wanted champagne or whiskey. This lady is freaking awesome.

Anyhow, I had always felt bad I never had a chance to reciprocate the gesture until yesterday! Françoise came over around 4pm and we opened a bottle of champagne and had a nice time catching up. For les apéros, I had a bowl of olives and prepared a version of these spinach puffs I found on Epicurious. The only difference is I added feta cheese, a dash of nutmeg, way more garlic, and some thyme since I didn’t have dill. I have to say they were really good and Françoise thought so too! I insisted she tell me the truth if they were horrible so I wouldn’t make them again for another party and set myself up for failure, but she insisted they were good and proceeded to pop another puff in her mouth.

Prepping the spinach puffs. Did I mention, I rolled out the puff pastry with a glass cup? I really need to buy a rolling pin!

Prepping the spinach puffs. Did I mention, I rolled out the puff pastry with a glass cup? I really need to buy a rolling pin!

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Apéros with One of My First French Friends

  1. You’re really setting the scene here! I love Parc Monceau, with all the joggers around, and that lovely bistro, the 17ieme, just down the road. As for the aperitifs…I can feel a trip to France coming on! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

