French Phrase of the Day: Aujourd’hui, c’est une journée TPMG.

French Phrase of the Day: Today, it’s a day for myself. / Today, it’s all about me.

Ok, this phrase sounds way more obnoxious than it actually is. My Frenchie friend Camille taught it to me over drinks chez elle last week and it’s a phrase that means it’s a day where it’s all about taking care of yourself. i.e. if you’re just going to stay in, watch a movie and stuff your face with Cheetos and not give a crap, or if you’re going to hit the spa and enjoy a two-hour massage, get a mani/pedi and then stuff your face with Cheetos and not give a crap. You get the picture.

Camille warned me that this was a very girly phrase and apparently it is, because when I told Frenchie Steeve about my new expanded French vocabulary, he had no clue what I was talking about. Ha!

And for the record, pour moi, le lundi, c’est typiquement une journée TPMG.

Oh – and in case you’re wondering what “TPMG” stands for it’s “tout pour ma gueule”, which translated literally means “all for my mouth”.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

