Vinochromie Event

Vinochromie Edition 2013Last night, I went to my first art event in Paris! To be honest, I was a bit afraid it was going to be too posh and artsy for me. Images of a stark white art gallery with skinny fashionable girls wearing oversized non-prescription glasses while sipping wine immediately came to mind. Sorry, I can’t help but stereotype. But, thankfully, Vinochromie was anything but that!

Vinochromie is a “hybrid concept” combining wine and art. For six euros, you gained entrance into Workshop, a new bar/bistro/exhibit space/concept store, to taste a selection of wine from five different wineries and check out 10 artworks inspired by those wines. With the exception of one overly-sweet white wine, all the wines and champagne were delicious. To be honest, I didn’t really look at the art that much as I was just soaking up the atmosphere, great music (old school 90s’ hip hop at one point!) and enjoying the company of new friends.

It still amazes me how many people I meet who had amazing, successful careers (last night, it was an art director, lawyer & marketer) and left it all behind with no foreseeable job just to live in Paris… and, oh yes, for love sometimes too. Well, I can tell you it’s been nearly a year since I gave up my dream job to move here, and I don’t regret it for a minute. Pas du tout.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

