Burgundy Weekend Getaway

This past weekend the whole family (me, Rio & our dog Tyler) took a road trip to Dijon in the Burgundy region. Since moving to Paris, I’ve taken three weekend getaways within France and I have to say this was my favorite! Despite being stressed about being stuck in notoriously bad Parisian traffic (that damn Blvd Périphérique!) and not making it to our first dinner reservations in time, and also running 30 minutes late to just about every other appointment we had during the trip, it was a wonderful weekend with the family… especially since Rio is in Budapest again for an entire week. Ugh.

An ancient capital of the Burgundy region, Dijon is a great central location to base a weekend getaway from Paris. It’s a “city” that has a walking tour called the “Owl’s Trail” where you can check out the city’s sights and a ton of delicious restaurants to choose from – three of which are Michelin 1-stars! Only 20 to 30 minutes from the Côte de Nuits et Côte de Beaune wine regions, I definitely recommend driving through the vineyards and tasting some world-class Pinot Noirs and Chardonnays.

Below are a few of my favorite pictures from the trip, and here is the Burgundy itinerary I ended up having in case it helps any future visitors. I definitely recommend spending two full days and two nights in either Dijon or Beaune. If you want to go further south in the Burgundy wine region, then Beaune will be a more central location than Dijon. I also plan to post more specifics about the hotel and restaurants – so keep your blog-reading eyes open!

Chateau du Clos de Vougeot
Chateau du Clos de Vougeot is where monks used to make wine – before the French Revolution where many of them were then killed.

Wine Tasting
Wine tasting with Authentica Tours. This happend to be at a shop right outside of Chateau du Clos de Vougeot.

Burgundy Wine Region
Burgundy wine region. Gorgeous!

Mustard
My friend Erica smartly recommended going to the Maille store for some mustard tastings. Yum!
Owl's Trail  The Owl!
The beginning of the Owl’s Trail. And here’s the owl! You’re supposed to rub it’s belly with your left hand for good luck. Naturally, Tyler and I both did it.

Place de la Liberation
Place de la Liberation. I used the handy iPhone panorama feature for this shot.

Domaine des Variolles
We had a wonderful tasting at Domaine des Varoilles. I expected that we’d just taste some wines but Fabienne actually took us for a drive through her wine plots (grand cru, premier cru and village ratings) and even showed us the 12th century wine cellar. But the highlight was Fabienne actually conducted the wine tasting in her (also 12th century) house!

Gevrey-Chambertin
Leaving Gevrey-Chambertin. C’est pas au revoir, mais à bientôt!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Burgundy Weekend Getaway

  1. Valerie says:

    What a lovely blog you have …so I am a French living in NY and I enjoy very much your french stories (the one with Orange dealing technicians is my fave 🙂 if you go back to Burgundy you should visit the Mustard factory of Fallot in Beaune which much more authentic than the Maille 🙂

  2. Cynthia says:

    I love all your trip/travel writeups. Living vicariously thru ya

  3. […] I first arrived in Burgundy last weekend, which is about a 3 and a half hour drive from Paris, I thought, “Wow, the hotel […]

  4. […] planning my weekend trip to Burgundy, I had a hard time deciding whether to stay in Beaune or Dijon. One of the reasons I ended up […]

Leave a Reply

