Fromage Friday! Le Joug, Marie-Anne Cantin


When trying to decide which cheese to buy this week, the lady at the Monoprix deli counter recommended a goat cheese called Le Joug (translation: The Yoke) by the French cheesemaker Marie-Anne Cantin. For 5,95 euros, I said sure.

I tried it that night with a baguette and wine… and was disappointed. It’s a very mild and creamy cheese, and I tend to like my fromage stronger and more flavorful. At first I was pissed the lady tricked me since it was the last one left and maybe she wanted to get rid of it, but when I tried it again the other night in a salad, it was almost like tasting a different cheese and had much more flavor. I don’t know if it was the wine or the bread the first time, but I’d recommend this cheese in a salad or served to someone who prefers a “starter” moldy cheese with a mild taste.

On a side note, it turns out Marie-Anne Cantin also owns a store with cheese tastings at 12, rue du Champs de Mars in the 7th arrondissement. Maybe if I had loved the cheese, I’d go…

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

