French Phrase of the Day: Canapé-Lit

French Phrase of the Day: Sofa Bed.

Well… not really a phrase, but a word.

How not to say sofa bed in French? Couchon-lit. That’s what I was saying for the longet time and people didn’t seem to understand… or would pretend they would. “Couchon” apparently isn’t even a word, and the closest thing to it is “cochon”, which means pig! So with my horrible accent, my neighbor and furniture salespeople probably thought I was saying I was looking for a “pig bed” the whole time! Oh lord, I really need my French lessons to start already.

And in case you’re ever looking for a sofa bed in France, a canapé-lit is also sometimes referred to as a canapé convertible.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

